OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) can’t autostart ospi.py…rc.local or init.d

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

ogtommy

I’ve tried everything to get ospi.py to start automatically. I’m using wheezy on a rev 2 raspberry pi. It loads up to the gui and that’s about it.I can manually start it without a problem but using the autostart method in rc.local didn’t work or the init.d method either. Autostart is a necessity since I have a greenhouse with drippers relying on my sprinkler pi to stay alive.I am a linux noob but in no way a computer noob. Am I missing a simpke setting or something? I installed rszimm’ s sprinklers-pi profram and it worked, even autostarted but I can’t seem for the life of me to get this goinf. Can someone plz help me out? Please let me know what info you need to help me get this going. Thank u in advance!!!

Dan in CA
    Participant

ogtommy,

When you say it loads up to the GUI, do you mean you can log into the web interface over the network?

Are you using Samer’s mobile web app with the program?

You might check this post if you haven’t seen it.
    viewtopic.php?f=28&t=207&start=40#p2099

If you have both the rc.local script and the init.d scripts installed, you should comment out the rc.local script.
    If you are using the rc.local script, you can test if the program is running by issuing the command:
    /etc/init.d/ospi status
    EDIT: That should be if you are using the init.d script, you can use the status command.

Are you using port :8080 in the start up script? and adding the port to the URL when you try to access the program from the network?

Also, is your OSPi directory located as a sub directory of the Pi home directory? If it is located somewhere else you would need to modify the start up script to point to that path.

Dan

ogtommy