OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) Python interval – Location features?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

noisymime

So I’ve tried out OSPi and it’s a terrific piece of work! Definitely my preference of all the options for a pi that I’ve seen!

I started playing and noticed the Location field in the options, but I can’t see that it’s actually used anywhere? I’m guessing that the location is to be used for things such as weather lookups, in particular to check for recent rainfall and adjust accordingly, but that this hasn’t been implemented yet?
    I had some spare time, so have started throwing together some functionality around this. It’s fairly incomplete at the moment, but I’ve got a location lookup function added in the options page and a quick temperature display (Using http://openweathermap.org/) on the home screen. If I get some time over the next day or so, I’ll add a recent rain check (Say 3 hours) that disables any sprinklers if there has been more than Xmm of rain etc.

It’s nothing fancy or anything, but I wasn’t sure if anyone else was working on this sort of thing and/or if anyone else was interested in it. Anyway, the fork is at https://github.com/noisymime/OSPi

KanyonKris
    Participant

One of the things I like about OSPI being written in Python is how (relatively) easy it is to tinker with.

This thread discussing the use of weather data to adjust watering may be of interest to you – viewtopic.php?f=28&t=364

noisymime

Some interesting reading there. Certainly implementing the simplified Hargreaves-Samani seems like it would be fairly trivial and I’ll tackle that tonight.