OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) Starting ospi.py automatically

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 43 total)
  • Author

mickeyshowers
    Participant

OK. I have edited /etc/rc.local to look like this

host=$(hostname -I | sed ‘s/ *$//g’)
    port=:80
    cd /home/pi/OSPi/
    /usr/bin/python ospi.py $host$port

but when I reboot, I get an error that says:

File “/home/pi/OSPi/web

ValueError: :80 is not a valid ip address

If I change rc.local back, I can start ospi.py manually just fine. I’m a linux beginner, so be gentle. Thanks!

ITDawg

Sounds like your RPi is not getting an IP address or it is not getting one in time for the script… Before the “host=…” line, add “sleep 60” on a new line and see what that does…

I had that same issue and that’s my current work around…

mickeyshowers
    Participant

Thanks, I’ll try that tonight when I get home. I’m wondering if there isn’t something else going on too. I can’t look at it now but it seems to me that I remember seeing 0.0.0.0 returned after I kick off ospi.py even though I have verified that it does indeed have an IP and I can get to the page.

Samer
    Keymaster

0.0.0.0 means its listening on all available IP addresses. This behavior is fine so long you don’t have multiple IPs bound to the same NIC.

kkpwrh2o

Had the same problem.

Did this, Before the “host=…” line, add “sleep 60” on a new line and see what that does…

Failed with this

socket.error: No socket could be created

Suggestions appreciated

Thanks,
    Kevin

Samer
    Keymaster

Something is using that port, typically. To help diagnose we would need the port your using for your interval program and then make sure you don’t have anything else running on that port (HTTPd such as Apache run on port 80).

Also, if you are trying to use port 80 it’s possible you don’t have privileges to open that port.

kkpwrh2o