OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) Interval program 2.2.7

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Keith
    Participant

<div>I am new to OSPi. A couple of things don’t seem right with what is displayed in my web browser from the interval program.</div>
    <div></div>
    <div>1.When I run a simple program in auto on the Home page display the status indicator in the column next to the station number always displays as OFF even though the valve gets turned on as it should. I expected this indicator to turn green and either display ON or count down showing the time to go for the station.</div>
    <div></div>
    <div>2. When I try Run Once to turn S08 on for 5 minutes the log entry is wrong. Date for the log entry shows:</div>
    <div></div>
    <table>
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <td style=”text-align: center;”>1970-01-01</td>
    <td style=”text-align: center;”>00:00:00</td>
    <td style=”text-align: center;”>S08</td>
    <td style=”text-align: center;”>23722023:18</td>
    <td style=”text-align: center;”>0</td>
    </tr>
    </tbody>
    </table>
    <div>I have tried Run Once for S01 and the log entry shows correct values. All other log entries show correctly with correct time and date.</div>
    <div></div>
    <div>I have also given Rich Zimmerman’s sprinklers_pi program a whirl and it all appears to work correctly.</div>
    <div>Your advice would e appreciated</div>

Dan in CA
    Participant

Kieth,

The date 1970-01-01 indicates that the Pi has not set the time on boot. It should get the correct time from the internet when it starts up.

The Python Interval program depends on the time and time zone settings of the Pi for correct operation. Be sure the time zone is set using “sudo raspi-config”, under 4 Internationalisation Options.

You can check the time from the command line with “date”.

There is more information on the wiki at:

http://rayshobby.net/mediawiki/index.php/Real_Time_Clock_%28RTC%29_Set_up