• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author

Benoitm234

Hello Everyone,

I’m new to microcontrollers and programming. I’m new to electricity for that matter! I have a question. I was able to successfully install the latest release of Raspbian onto my 8GB SD card. After I achieved that I plugged in an old tv via RCA cables, keyboard, mouse, and power. I fired up my RasPi and I’ve made it to my main desktop.

I’ve created a google calendar and made it public, I’ve loaded my calendar ID into the program. Now I’m arriving at this: http://code.google.com/p/gdata-python-client/downloads/detail?name=gdata-2.0.17.zip&can=2&q=

I’ve downloaded it but have no idea where to install it or move it to. 🙁

Is this something I should be downloaded from my RaspPi Internet connection? Because I downloaded it to my mac desktop.

Thanks,

Mark

mrburns42

I have never used the Google calendar. However, I believe you need to make the Pi a client to use this. I would suggest reading :

https://developers.google.com/gdata/articles/python_client_lib

The first part of this page is just information to you. The Pi runs Linux and it’s distributions come with Python already. Therefore, you just need to check that your Python version is 2.5 or higher. (I am at work now, so no Pi access for me to check the version.) If you at are Python 2.5 or higher, then you can assume that the dependencies are already installed. Dependencies is just a fancy term for “other stuff you also need” . The go to the Installing Google Data Library and start those steps on the Pi.

For all the above comments, I am assuming that you want to place sprinkler schedules on your Google calendar and have OpenSprinkler follow that schedule. To do that, the Pi has to be running something that communicates with said Google Calendar. The foundation of this appears to be Python scripts running on the Pi and the building block is the Google Data Library.

Ray
    Keymaster