OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions Opensprinkler + Soil Moisture Sensor

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

wateru
    Participant

Hi,
    I am a novice here. My goal is to create an automated sprinkler system based on soil moisture for my lawn and garden. I spent the better part of today researching. Would a setup like the following work? Need your advice before spending money on this. Thank you so much.

– Chirp Soil moisture sensor
    – Raspberry Pi Zero W
    – Opensprinkler Pi
    – Solar panel, 9V battery, Car charger (this for later expansion to make the Raspberry Pi power supply automatic)

Proposed setup:
    Phase I – Replace my Hunter sprinkler panel with Opensprinkler Pi. Insert Chirp soil moisture sensor in my flower bed. Connect Chirp Soil moisture sensor to Raspberry Pi Zero W. Get the Opensprinkler PI and Raspberry Pi on my wifi network. Output from the chirp soil moisture sensor should flow to Raspberry pi, use this output to change waterlevel of the Opensprinkler Pi.
    Phase II – Use solar panel to charge 9V rechargeable battery, transform 9V with car charger to USB power and power the raspberry pi board.

Please let me know if this sounds like a reasonable setup that can work? Thank you.

Mike
    Participant

Hi wateru,

Yes what you’re asking about can definitely be done. I’ve done something very similar and it’s been working for a few years now. A few thoughts about your proposed setup come to mind.

• I’d suggest a more robust soil moisture sensor. I’ve got a chirp and mine definitely is not designed for outdoor use. I’d suggest considering the VH400. I’ve also got one of these and it is now in its 4th season outdoors in the containers on my deck. I’ve had absolutely zero problems with it. It uses the same method to measure soil moisture as the chirp.