OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) opensprinklerpi versus opensprinkler

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

[email protected]
    Participant

im weighing the differences between the standard version of the sprinkler controller and the raspberry pi version. im a software engineer with arduino experience and i love tinkering but i dont want to miss out on features that might be available with the standard version, but not the pi.

so my questions are:

are there major differences between the two versions out of the box software?
      what does it take to modify the provided sprinkler software on either platform, can i just ssh into either and modify files with a text editor?
      will the IOS app work with the pi version?

i also want to say that i think this project is amazing, its exactly what i look for in something like this. it seems to comes ready to perform but is still highly customizable and you have a GITHUB repo! well done and thank you!

tom
    Participant

I installed an Arduino version for half my yard, and just installed the PI version in the other half of my yard. I also installed a PI version in my wife’s raised bed vegetable gardens (one zone per bed). My wife (more interested in gardening than geek stuff) really likes it. I also tested Dan’s Python version (Now called SID).

My reactions to all three:

If all I wanted was to plug in a controller and use it without modifications, I’d use the Arduino version. It is much more self-contained, doesn’t have to boot an operating system, boots faster, and is probably much more reliable than the PI, not being dependent on an SD card. But modifying the controller is much more difficult, if not impossible for certain tasks. There is no SSH shell available, you have to upload an entire new program to change anything.