OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions Operating 24Vdc 0.3A solenoid valves.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

fuzzybear
    Participant

Hi All,

New here and new to electronics so please excuse any stupid questions.

I am planning on implementing an opensprinkler to replace a very old sprinkler system in my greenhouses. The current system operates 20 zones with solenoid operated diaphragm valves. These 20 valves are 24Vdc 0.3 Amp.
    My question is basically if I use a supply voltage of 24Vdc 0.3Amp to the opensprinkler circuitry will it suffice to replace the triacs with MPSA14 transistors or do I need something more or different?

As I am quite new to this I am looking for the simplist option.

Bren

Ray
    Keymaster

The current system operates 20 zones with solenoid operated diaphragm valves. These 20 valves are 24Vdc 0.3 Amp.

do you know the model number / link to the valve? The first thing is to make sure these are indeed DC valves. Also, whether it’s latching or non-latching. If you can tell me more about the specifications of the valves, I can give you better advice.

fuzzybear
    Participant

@ray wrote:

The current system operates 20 zones with solenoid operated diaphragm valves. These 20 valves are 24Vdc 0.3 Amp.

do you know the model number / link to the valve? The first thing is to make sure these are indeed DC valves. Also, whether it’s latching or non-latching. If you can tell me more about the specifications of the valves, I can give you better advice.

This is a link to the solenoid. http://www.brinkman.com/component/virtuemart/onderd/onderd-kranen/onderd-kranen-bluera/brain-solenoid-24v-dc-coil-ring-detail?Itemid=0

I have found a bit more detail in this pdf http://www.tasseron.nl/sites/default/files/product_groups/downloads/BR.pdf but unfortunately it is Dutch. I will continue to search to see if I can find some more information.