OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) Fix for RTC clock not working after firmware update

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Toonces
    Participant

Hi, I am new to OSPi but not to the Raspberry Pi. Needing only the thinnest excuse to buy new hardware, I repurposed my son’s pi after stumbling across an OSPi compatible interface board. 16 stations vs 6 and I can have actual, english understandable programs that don’t involve turning every station on! WooHoo, I’m thereOf course, I had to replace his pi with a pi2 😀 So I set about yesterday setting things up and after fighting with 3 different USB wifi adapters that wouldn’t stay connected, I updated my firmware to the latest Linux ospi 3.18.7+ #755 PREEMPT Thu Feb 12 17:14:31 GMT 2015 armv6l GNU/Linux version. Between the update and turning off power management, I have rock solid wifi and a nice OSPi system mounted in an ex Orbit 6 station controller box. Since I cannot leave well enough alone, I have updated raspbian, configured my stations, watered the lawn a few too many times and just generally geeked out showing off my cool new internet enabled, phone app having, need to add a camera so I can watch the grass grow sprinkler system to my co workers.  As I went through Ray’s site showing one of my coworkers where they could get such a modern marvel of technology, I ran across the instructions for setting up the RTC. So tonight after I got home from Wireshark class, I set out to have my pi keep things super accurate and failed miserably……

I’m a Linux admin by profession and can usually follow written instructions (BTW, there’s a typo at line 31 of the rtcdev script. it should be *) not “). On the 1.4 pre-made image, there’s no script to copy so you have to copy and paste which led to the discovery of that issue.