OpenSprinkler Forums Pictures and Creative Use Scottsdale Arizona Install

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

mkstahldesign
    Participant

This install of OSPI in the southwest desert has been a dream. I moved the disassembled the old Rainbird 6 valve sprinkler and installed another 7 valves for a total of 13. I wanted control over more of my wife’s diverse plants either in pots or plantings.

I used a GFI along with a surge protector in a new Orbit sprinkler box and so far have had great success. We are also enjoying our new herb garden, watered daily with OSPI.

Thanks to all the contributors to this great project especially Ray, Dan Kimberling and Jonathan Marsh and Samer Albahra for his work on the mobile app and anyone else I don’t know about.

Mark
    Scottsdale, AZ
    …not 100 degrees, but soon

Karlyn
    Participant

Hi,

I’m also an Arizona resident, and am considering a Opensprinkler install. I’m down in the Queen Creek area. How has your install held up to the extreme heat over the last week or so? My current controller box (a Hunter) is mounted on the outside, west of my home. I have some shrubs that might shade it from most of the direct sun, but I’m still a bit concerned about running into heat issues.

Let me know your experience so far. I have one installed in another state where it is much cooler and inside the garage, and have had very good luck so far.

Thanks!

Karlyn

Ray
    Keymaster

Thanks, Mark, for letting us know!

mkstahldesign
    Participant

No problems so far with the heat on the south/east side of the house that I have partially shaded in the heat of the day. I have some loss of wireless access at times but I am not sure this is related to the heat. Otherwise it has worked impressively.

Mark

cmartinsen
    Participant

Hi Karlyn,