OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions Some newbie's questions before buying

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

negan
    Participant

Hello,

I’m considering buying an opensprinkler device.
    But my irrigation system was already in place when i bought my house.
    And i’m no electrician so i’m not understanding 100% of what has been done.
    I just know how to use it …

12V DC or 24V AC ?
    I live in France but i’m thinking buying the 24V AC version of the opensprinkler.
    My power adapter clearly indicates “OUTPUT : 24V” and someone added a sticker indicating “24V alternative power supply”.
    No doubt to have ? Any other way to be sure ? On the valve themselves ?
    I attach a picture of the power supply.

Switching on the pump separately
    I checked the manual and i’m pretty confident i can replace my programer by the opensprinkler and control my 4 valves.
    But, next to my programer i have a manual switch to start the pump and send the water flow to a 5th pipe and use my hose with the well’s water.
    Any way i can remotely switch on this thing (useful when i’m at the opposite side of the garden) ?
    I attach a picture of the programer and the switch.

Integration with home automation system
    I use domoticz with a RF433 and Zwave controllers at home.
    I’m thinking controling the sprinklers through Domoticz using the HTTP commands and virtual switches.
    Anybody here doing that ? Maybe someone did something more advanced/clever/useful with domoticz.

Thank you !

Steph13590
    Participant

salut, je reponds en Francais, ca ira plus vite.

Chez Rain Bird, il existe deux types de solenoides (moteur de la vanne) 9v DC et 24V AC.
    Si le programmateur est sur pile (généralement 2 piles 9V) alors les vannes sont en 9V AC
    Si le programmateur est sur secteur 24V AC alors les vannes aussi.

Je suis très intéressé par opensprinkler et je suis sous Jeedom pour ma domotique.