OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) Building OSPi from scratch

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Einix

Hello,
    I am new to the project, so please forgive my (silly) questions. Unfortunately the Raspberry Boards are sold out in Australia at the moment, so I thought with the good documentation it can’t be too hard too build it up by my self. But there are some questions popping up I could not find answers in this forum yet.

1) The schematic is using BT1308W as solenoid drivers. Some schematics still have MAC97 in it. Why did you change to the new ones? Performance?
    2) Are the RN2 and RN3 resistor networks only resistors to limit the current or is the ‘isolated’ somehow important? Some talk about opto ccouplers for the triacs or is that just necessary if we would want to switch 220V like main power ?
    3) I am sure it works fine (I ordered some parts, but could not start assembling anything yet) but isn’t the LM2596 ment to be DC/DC and not 24VAC to DC

Thanks in advance. I am looking forward to get my parts together to get started, at least my second Raspberry to install and play with the software.
    Great project

Ray
    Keymaster

1) The schematic is using BT1308W as solenoid drivers. Some schematics still have MAC97 in it. Why did you change to the new ones? Performance?

BT1308W is a surface mount part, and MAC97 is a through-hole part (maybe MAC97 also has SMD version, but not that I am aware of). Their electrical specs are almost the same. I apologize that the schematics are not all consistent. Basically if it’s surface mount you should use BT1308W, and if it’s through-hole, use MAC97.

2) Are the RN2 and RN3 resistor networks only resistors to limit the current or is the ‘isolated’ somehow important? Some talk about opto ccouplers for the triacs or is that just necessary if we would want to switch 220V like main power ?