Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

HorizonKane
    Participant

Hi all,

I am new to OpenSprinkler. As a first project, I equipped my huge balcony with Gardena Micro Drip and Opensprinkler so my bamboo and tomatoes can survive the upcoming holiday without somebody driving to my house ever day 😀 Because that is how thirsty they are. Sometimes two times a day. I also have upcoming plans to use rain water from a barrel when available, however thats not topic of this post.

So I experimented with Zimmerman and eTO and read a lot about the methods here in the forum and docs. Generally I understand how all this works but in the daily use a question emerged about the behaviour of the eTO method.

I first tried Zimmerman but didn’t like it and then switched to eTO which is feeling much better. Let me first describe my settings to help you understand my upcoming question better:

I attached a Hunter Rainsensor to S1 to stop watering when it really rains and not when the weather report thinks it might be raining. This is working good so far.

Next I set the circuit to “Ignore Rain” (I assume this option means the rain from weather reports as the Sensors have own options. Left my rain sensor active of course).

My eTO baseline is 2,5mm for my location according to the app and I left it like that, altered the height as it was wrong (100m now instead of 185m).

I water for around 3mins (still playing a little bit with the time) at 6h, 14h and 22h and how eTO alters the watering time seems to fit quite good in most cases. Dark Sky also seems to have quite accurate information for my area.

Now my question: