OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) Fertigation Usability

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

strider_ani
    Participant

Hi, I’ve been looking at the Open sprinkler system and I’ve been wondering if it’s possible to modify it in order to apply  it to a fertigation system for a small farm.

I’ve been looking at trying to build a DIY system and I’m looking for something flexible that I can use to avoid paying the cost of a new system. ( which can be upwards of around about $7000. )

To work, the system need to be able to control 2 solenoid valves based on the input of an EC sensor, with a manual override. As well as 2 pumps and Solenoids at the outflow point to control which bay to water. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I’ll draw up a diagram in paint, forgive me for the roughness but I’m not very good at it. As long as I can get the point across I suppose.

Fertigation System

So the system works with Venturi Injectors which have no moving parts and use physics to inject the fertilizer into the mainline. The amount of fertilizer is controlled by using the solenoids which turn off and on depending on how much EC the sensor is reading. The reason for manual override is when using bore water, the EC sensor cannot read it and so the control of the Fertilizer control solenoids needs to be controlled manually/hard coded. The rates can be worked out since the Venturi injectors are rated.

mark
    Participant