OpenSprinkler Forums OpenSprinkler Unified Firmware Free Weather Underground API keys for PWS non-commercial users

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author

franzstein
    Participant

According to information from Victoria Gardner, Weather Underground the gateway for obtaining keys on the new API for PWS non-commercial users is planned to open on February 15, 2019. All current WU API keys that are linked to a PWS will stay open through Friday, March 1, 2019. Links to documentation and details about data can be found at Weather Underground API Update. That gives only two full weeks to sign up for a new key and change the calls.

I’m not an expert in programming, but I think there need to be some changes made to the OpenSprinkler Weather Service and probably the OpenSprinkler App. Are there plans for OpenSprinkler to update the interface to WU that it can still be used by PWS owners?

The Zimmerman Method in conjunction with my own PWS reporting to WU was working perfect for me and it would be very nice to have this feature still working.

RottenMutt
    Participant

I see the weather api link at the bottom of their page, but that appears to be the old system.

https://www.wunderground.com/weather/api

franzstein
    Participant

Weather Underground has opened the gateway for obtaining keys on the new API for PWS non-commercial users. It is now possible for PWS owners to obtain the NEW API key. The documentation for the NEW API’s commands can be found here.

The big question now: Will there still be an OpenSprinkler interface to Weather Underground? What are the plans for the OpenSprinkler Weather Service? It would be very nice to get some answers?

Samer
    Keymaster