OpenSprinkler Forums OpenSprinkler Unified Firmware New to OpenSprinkler with an unusual setup

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

obrienj

As the subject says, I am new to OpenSprinkler but have 50 years experience as a programmer and software development executive.

But I have an unusual setup and need some guidance as to whether I can apply OpenSprinler.

I live in Western Colorado with an irrigation ditch which feeds a 1200 gallon cistern.

A 240V pump (which is controlled by a Square D manual hi-lo pressure switch) pumps from the cistern to the irrigation system manifold which has 4 zones.

Currently the valves are all manual but will soon be replaced with electric ones (RainBird probably).

Since the irrigation ditch flow is variable and unpredictable based on supply levels and upstream usage, I use the cistern to provide about 15-20 min watering per zone when full.

So my usage scenario is:

1. Don’t do anything until the float sensor indicates the cistern is full.
    (Note: the cistern is equipped with a 12V wired water level float sensor (on when full, off when empty or the other way around if needed)

2. When the cistern indicates full I need the pump started.

3. Then I need to select the new zone based on the last one watered.

4. Watering the current zone should stop when either the float sensor indicates cistern empty OR a time period expires OR water pressure is not between 40-60psi.
    (Note: the last condition is to duplicate what the Square D pump switch does now and serves to protect the pump)

5. Once one of the “ending” conditions is met, the system should revert to step one.

Anyone have any thoughts on how to apply OpenSprinkler to this situation.

Regards,
    Jim

aleatorvb