OpenSprinkler Forums Pictures and Creative Use OpenSprinkler – Central Australia Setup

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

saim
    Participant

Hello everyone, greetings from Australia.

First up I just wanted to thank everyone involved in the development and maintenance of OpenSprinkler. It is fantastic – one of the best open source projects I’ve ever seen. Having recently spent the holidays revamping our home watering setup I wanted to share some photos and details that may help others thinking about using OpenSprinkler.

A number of photos and a circuit diagram are attached to this post.

My wife and I have been intending to upgrade our watering system for many years now. We live on a 1/4 acre block with over 100 fruit trees, large veggie patch, flower beds and various pot plants.

Our sprinkler system is made up of 13mm poly pipe with drippers. This has grown into 9 circuits over the years. To connect them we have been using a 4-way tap manifold and multiple battery tap timers (see photo) on one the back garden tap. My wife says I have to mention the photo is inaccurate as there was another double tap timer attached to that setup. On the other tap out the front, it had a splitter and yet another double tap timer. This had grown out of hand and difficult to manage. If any batteries went flat you would find out about it a week later as the plants were droopy and unhappy. We also found the build quality of the battery tap timer to be quite poor, this resulted in at least one failing per year and they cost about $100 each. They were also difficult to know when each circuit ran, so there were at times overlapping of systems running as well as watering in the heat of the sun – not ideal!

So we decided to upgrade to solenoids but couldn’t choose an irrigation controller that suited the growing garden’s needs – enter OpenSprinkler!