OpenSprinkler Forums Hardware Questions OpenSprinkler Pi (OSPi) Python interval program update 8/30/13

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Dan in CA
    Participant

Hi All,
    The August 30 update to the Python Interval Program is now available.

There have actually been a couple of “silent” updates in the past few days.
    I am new to GitHub and made a couple of small blunders in getting to know the system but there is no going back.
    The kinks are getting worked out and this update should be pretty smooth.

If you have not updated the program in a while (before Aug. 25), follow the instructions on the wiki for updating from an installation that was not done using git:
    http://rayshobby.net/mediawiki/index.php?title=Python_Interval_Program_for_OSPi#From_an_older_version_not_installed_using_git

If you updated the program on or after Aug 25 using the new GitHub repository you just need to log into the OSPi sirectory on your Pi and run the command:

git pull

Depending on when you actually updated your program there could be a couple of different results:

1. The program will be updated and your done. EDIT: forgot to mention that you will need to restart the program (reboot) to enable the changes.
    This is the expected result and should be how things work from now on. Your settings and programs should remain intact.

2. The program is updated and shows a bunch of *.pyc (compiled python) files being deleted.
    There is nothing to worry about. The .pyc files are automatically compiled by Python when it runs a program and these files will be re-generated. Git will ignore them from now on.
    This was one of the blunders I made as a git noob. I shouldn’t have included them in the repository.

3. The update aborts with a message about overwriting files and either commiting or “stashing” your changes.
    this is not as bad as it looks and there are a couple of options: